Saturday, February 23, 2013

A Great Series: Percy Jackson & The Olympians

Percy Jackson & The Olympians

This great series, meant for ages 8 to 13 (I'm 9 and I love the series)  is by Rick Riordan.  There are three books in the series.  My aunt, who of course is much older than me, read the first book (The Lightening Thief) and really liked it.

The first book in the series, The Lightning Thief, is about when Percy Jackson first discovers that he is a half blood, which means that one parent was a god (like Hercules, Posieden, Athena, or Zeus).  One of the first days he's at Camp Halfblood, he gets assigned a quest which some people don't get assigned at all.  First he has to get claimed by his god parent, which I am not revealing, because it's a big part of the story.

Throughout the series, Percy gets attacked by mortals and immortals, and monsters.  If I told you any more, I would have to give away the name of his god parent.  I hope you read this series which includes
  •  The Lightning Thief
  •  The Sea of Monsters
  • The Titan's Curse
  •  The Battle of the Labyrinth
  •  The Last Olympian
  • The Demigod Files
.  You'll love this series no matter what age you are.

Enila, Age 9

And if you love these books, you must read D'Aulaire's Book of Greek Mythology. Enila's aunt loved and read many times D'Aulaire's Book of Greek Mythology when she was 9.

While  commenting on books meant for pre-teens, Marash Girl remembers unforgettable comments from her children:  Enila's aunt:  "Why is it that books written for grown-ups are boring?"  Enila's uncle:  "Why are the 'classics' always so depressing?"

Would love to hear your comments on the subject, dear reader . . . .

Marash Girl, Ageless


Post a Comment